#1: Training / job window, Sprites changing with equipment and age.

Training / job window

Today, I spent some time working on the window that shows right before accepting job or training. It is still work in progress. I will change the formating a bit and play with the colors, but the entire thing already works quite well.

Also, All of the graphical assets are just placeholders. I am focusing on coding right now. I will focus on graphics after I finish most of the basic coding stuff.

So, with that out of the way, lets begin.

TR1

In the upper left corner you can see the name of the job. Below, there is window with resources you need to begin your training. Number on the left shows the amount of resources you need. Number on the right shows the amount of resources you have. Color of the right number changes if you have enough of them. Right window shows how will your stats change. Some jobs will even lover your stats. This will again change the color of the number shown.

So, your character has enough money, but not enough food. What will happen if you accept the job?

TR2

Yeah. Who would have thought, right? Same thing hapens if you dont have enough money or other items that your teacher / employer might need. So, now you have enough food and enough money. This hapens after accepting the job.

TR4

Also bear in mind that this text is there just for me to know if everything works as intended. Final game will have some short dialog between your character and your teacher instead.

So, this is how the job window looks, if you decide to take the training again.

TR5

As you can see, you lost some money and food. Everything works as it should. Now, lets look at the stats. These are your stats before training.

TR0

And after

TR6

Everything works as intended. Stats are changing correctly. Same thing goes for resources and other stuff. Again, keep in mind that these values are just for testing purposes. Same goes for skill names. I will be actualy removing some of them and renaming others so please bear that in mind.  And now for something a bit older.

Sprites changing with equipment and age

This is something I was working on before starting this blog, but I will put it here anyway. And again, All of the graphical assets are just placeholders. I am focusing on coding right now. I will focus on graphics after I finish most of the basic coding stuff. I cant stress that enough. Many people seem to not read this part and then they are all like “why are you using stock assests? This sucks” So now that I put it here in nice bold text, hopefuly everyone will see it.

Now for the main part. As you know, your character will spend eight years on the island. This means you will start game as ten years old and end it as eighteen years old. Your apearance will change with years spent on the island. Your apearance will change every year. This will make making sprites bearable and even then I will need to make shitload of them. I am using ripped Princess maker 2 sprites as placeholders. This is the basic look with the basic clothes

TR0

And now, seven years later

TR7

As you can see, sprite has changed depending on your age. Other parameters do not change your look. Yet.

Also, your sprite changes depending on the clothes / armor you equip. Lets equip something different.

TR8

This system is pretty easy to use. Adding new clothes takes like one minute. Drawing the sprites is entirely different matter though.

And lastly, your equiped clothes change your characters ingame sprite too. These are the basic clothes

TR10

And after equiping the green fancy dress

TR9

All those things are just cosmetic, but in my opinion, these little details make the game much better. As somene once said, details make the whole picture. And I really think that this is true.

So, that is all for now. I will post again after I do something.

Leave a comment