#11: Few words about progress

This week was pretty crazy. First, I discovered a nasty bug that could corrupt your save file. This took me feh hours to fix. Then I decided to redo the status screen to make it slightly faster (not like anybody is going to notice. This thing can run on pentium II and 128 mb of ram.). Then I improved the menu screen a bit, Improved the job screen, added new weapon and basicaly finished the tutorial. So lets get into greater detail.

First, the save corruption. This was the problem with the job window. I was disposing of the windows, instead of just hiding them and this is something rpg maker hates for some reason. Everything is fixed (hopefully), so no more save corruption.

Next thing I did was the improvement of the job window.

SCR23

It looks basicaly the same, but now the individual windows change size automaticaly depending on the number of lines in it. I should have done that from the start, but better late than never. Now I can fit around 8 lines of text into one window. This should be more than enough.

The tutorial is now finished. It is crude as fuck, but it should be enough for the first version of the game. So right now, there is one NPC that you can talk to and work for, two basic crafting stations, your hideout, where you can rest and raise your mood, store your food and do the said crafting, one use resource nodes (small pile of rocks, wild potatoes, plant fibers and scrap wood) which can be gathered only once per game (except for plants. These will grow back after some time.). I will also add unlimited resource nodes, but gathering from these will require tools, food and seven days of your time. There are also three recipes in the game right now. Wooden club, stone hatchet and baked potatoes. Also there are already 8 topics, excluding work and training. Raising your survival and cooking skill also unlocks new recipes (survival 2 = can gather wild potatoes, make wooden club, cooking 2 = bake potatoes). Transforming food items into “food” is also in. Just go near your chest in the hideout, press shift, select the food item you want to store, select how much and thats it. Also, cooked food gives you more “food” units than raw food.

Next thing I did was the improved menu screen. It now shows your most basic stats and your looks. so now you dont have to look into status screen whenever you want to check some of your skills. You character now also has new pose made for melee weapons.

SCR22

Remember. This is still work in progress and I will be improving it as I go along.

And, this is it for this week. I might have fogotten something because there was shitload of things I did. I will continue adding new things.

Leave a comment